Thursday, November 21, 2002

National Book Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2002 National Book Awards were announced November 20, at a ceremony at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. The annual awards are given by the National Book Foundation to recognize achievements in four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People's Literature. The night's ceremonies included the presentation of the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters to Philip Roth.

This year's winners by category were:

Julia Glass, Three Junes (Pantheon Books)

Robert A. Caro, Master of the Senate: The Years of Lyndon Johnson (Alfred A. Knopf)

Ruth Stone, In the Next Galaxy (Copper Canyon Press)

Nancy Farmer, The House of the Scorpion (A Richard Jackson Book/Atheneum Books for Young Readers) -- my daughter loved this book!

No comments:

Search This Blog