Wednesday, February 13, 2013



TALLAHASSEE, Fla.— Its seventh annual competitions now complete, Florida Book Awards announces winners for books published in 2012 in eight categories of competition.  According to Co-Director Lisa Tendrich Frank, “In its seven years, the program has honored many of the Sunshine State’s best authors.  It is already the nation’s most comprehensive statewide program, and the program promises to bring more distinction to our talent-rich state.”

FBA 2012 Winners by Category

Popular Fiction
Gold: DJ Niko, The Tenth Saint (Medallion Press)
Silver: Michael Lister, Blood Sacrifice (Pulpwood Press)
Bronze: Mary Anna Evans, Plunder (Poisoned Pen Press)

General Fiction
Gold: Dennis Lehane, Live by Night (HarperCollins)
Silver: Janis Owens, American Ghost (Scribner)
Bronze: Mary Anna Evans, Plunder (Poisoned Pen Press)

Florida NonFiction
Gold: Gilbert King, Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America (HarperCollins)
Silver: Craig Pittman, The Scent of Scandal: Greed, Betrayal, and the World's Most Beautiful Orchid (University Press of Florida)
Bronze: Larry Eugene Rivers, Rebels and Runaways: Slave Resistance in 19th Century Florida (University of Illinois Press)

General NonFiction
Gold: Michael Grunwald, The New New Deal: The Hidden Story of Change in the Obama Era (Simon and Schuster)
Silver: William A. Link, Links: My Family in American History (University Press of Florida)
Bronze: Tracy Crow, Eyes Right: Confessions from a Woman Marine (University of Nebraska Press)

Gold: Campbell McGrath, In the Kingdom of the Sea Monkeys (HarperCollins)
Silver: Terri Witek, Exit Island (Orchises Press)
Bronze: Lola Haskins, Grace to Leave (Anhinga Press)

Visual Arts
Gold: Lu Vickers and Bonnie Georgiadis, Weeki Wachee Mermaids (University Press of 
Silver: Robert L. Crawford and William R. Brueckheimer, The Legacy of a Red Hills Hunting Plantation (University Press of Florida)
Bronze:  Gary Libby, Reflections II:  Watercolors of Florida 1835-2000 (Museum of Arts and Science)

Young Adult
Gold: Laura Lascarso, Counting Backwards (Simon and Schuster)
Silver: Carl Hiaasen, Chomp (Knopf Books for Young Readers)
Bronze: Alex Flinn, Bewitching (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Children’s Literature
Gold: Henry Cole, Unspoken (Scholastic)
Silver: Adrian Fogelin, Summer on the Moon (Peachtree Publishers)
Bronze: Dianne Ochiltree, Molly, by Golly (Boyds Mills Press)

The Florida Book Awards --the nation's most comprehensive state book awards program-- was established in 2006 to recognize, honor, and celebrate the best Florida literature published the previous year.  It is coordinated by The Florida State University Libraries, and co-sponsored by the Florida Center for the Book, State Library and Archives of Florida, Florida Historical Society, Florida Humanities Council, Florida Literary Arts Coalition, Florida Library Association, “Just Read, Florida!,” Florida Family Literacy Initiative, Florida Association for Media in Education, Florida Center for the Literary Arts, the Friends of FSU Libraries, Florida Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America, and the Florida Writers Association.

Submissions were read by juries of three members each nominated from across the state by cosponsoring organizations.  Jurors are authorized to select up to three medalists (including one Gold Winner, one Silver Runner-up, and one Bronze Medalist) in each of the eight categories; jurors are also authorized to make no selections in a given year.

The eight Gold Medal Winners will  be recognized on March 20th at the Historical and Cultural Awards Ceremony sponsored by the State of Florida’s Division of Cultural Affairs. All award recipients will be recognized at the a banquet held at Mission San Luis March 19 in Tallahassee.

To learn more about Florida Book Awards, visit: or

Search This Blog