Monday, June 19, 2006

The Macavity Award Nominations 2006
(for works published in the U.S. in 2005)

The Macavity Awards are nominated and voted on by members of Mystery Readers International. Winners will be announced at Bouchercon during opening ceremonies, September 28, 2006.

Best Novel
o One Shot by Lee Child (Delacorte Press)
o The James Deans by Reed Farrel Coleman (Plume)
o The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly (Little, Brown)
o Vanish by Tess Gerritsen (Ballantine Books)
o Strange Affair by Peter Robinson (William Morrow)
o The Power of the Dog by Don Winslow (Knopf)
o Solomon vs. Lord by Paul Levine (Bantam)

Best First Novel
o Immoral by Brian Freeman (St. Martin's)
o All Shook Up by Mike Harrison (ECW Press)
o Baby Game by Randall Hicks (Wordslinger Press)
o The Firemaker by Peter May (St. Martin's)

Best Nonfiction:
o Tracks to Murder by Jonathan Goodman (Kent State University)
o Behind the Mystery: Top Mystery Writers Interviewed by Stuart Kaminsky; photographed by Laurie Roberts (Hothouse Press)
o New Annotated Sherlock Holmes: The Novels, edited by Leslie S. Klinger (Norton)
o Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her by Melanie Rehak (Harcourt)
o Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife by Mary Roach (Norton)

Best Short Story
o "It Can Happen" by David Corbett in San Francisco Noir, Akashic Books
o "Everybody's Girl" by Robert Barnard
o "The Big Road by Steve Hockensmith (AHMM, May 2005)
o "There Is No Crime on Easter Island" by Nancy Pickard (EQMM, Sept-Oct 2005)

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award
o In Like Flynn by Rhys Bowen (St. Martin's Minotaur)
o Spectres in the Smoke by Tony Broadbent (St. Martin's)
o The War of the World Murders by Max Allan Collins
o Night's Child by Maureen Jennings (McClelland and Stewart)
o Pardonable Lies by Jacqueline Winspear, (Henry Holt)

No comments:

Search This Blog