Friday, April 13, 2007

Shortlist Announced for the 2007 Man Booker International Prize

Thu Apr 12, 8:04 PM ET
VANCOUVER, British Columbia (Reuters)

Salman Rushdie, Chinua Achebe and Margaret Atwood are among 15 authors selected as finalists for the 2007 Man Booker International Prize, the award's organizers said on Thursday.

The 60,000-pound ($118,000) award is presented every two years to highlight a living writer's continued contribution to fiction on the world stage. The inaugural prize was awarded in 2005 to Ismail Kadare.

It differs from the prestigious Man Booker Prize because it is available to fiction writers of any nationality so long as their work was written in or translated into English.

The 2007 nominees announced in Toronto also include John Banville, Peter Carey, Don DeLillo, Carlos Fuentes, Doris Lessing, Ian McEwan, Harry Mulisch, Alice Munro, Michael Ondaatje, Amos Oz, Philip Roth and Michel Tournier.

The panel of judges is chaired by U.S. literary critic Elaine Showalter and includes writers Nadine Gordimer of South Africa and Colm Toibin of Ireland.

The winner will be announced in early June.


Anonymous said...

Gosh, Stacy-I went to your site to see your news from Sleuthfest and came away with the Booker short list!! Wouldn't you think that working at one of the largest libraries in the country I'd have stumbled on that somewhere else? Talk about one stop shopping!
Keep up the good work!
Wendy Bartlett in SUNNY Cleveland!!

BookBitch said...

Talk about good work - aren't you the Wendy Bartlett I just read about on Laura Lippman's blog?

Thanks for writing!


Search This Blog